Might is Right !!

Tick Tock,

Beats my heart,

No on winds that clock,

Wish Wash,

Someone far,

Beats down the scars,

And carries on,

With the melodies of a swan,

Knock Knock,

Don’t be shocked,

You are the cause,

Of that chaos,

Don Won,

Memories linger on,

Fading from the thoughts,

Are the people who fought,

The grace of heart,

And the pace taught,

Stitch Switch,

Learn a lesson from the witch,

Not to wish,

To travel in the mists,

And to cloud sights with fists,

I flash back,

And see through the cracks,

Hear the laments of the claque,

“Baby, it’s the rule of life,

All the way, might is right”.

Image

14 comments

  1. “Learn a lesson from the witch,” yay! I love that line.

    Forgive me for asking, but I was just curious about your last name, are you Armenian? I lived in the city of Gyumri for two years as a Peace Corps volunteer and keep an eye out for Hye friends.

    • What is your nterpretation for this particular line ? I would love to hear it.
      My last name means (Roayal) Falcon 🙂 And its persian. And no, I am not Armenian but surely woud love to read about your experience of that time. You must have some fascinating stories to tell 🙂
      Regards,

      • Thank you. As for the Armenia connection after college I joined Peace Corps and was sent to the former Soviet Union (Armenia) to work in an orphanage for handicapped babies. There aren’t a lot of Armenians in the world so anytime I see a last name ending in “-ian” I ask, after all it is good to be able to talk about shared experiences. What part of the world does your family tree come from? The crescent horn of civilization, stretching from Anatolia all the way to Mongolia and down into India (if such a pattern can really be called a horn) is one of the parts of the world I know so little about. I too would love to hear any stories you’d like to share =)

      • Mian has been the family name for centuries as far as I know. It depicts caste or representation of our family, This caste has been further divided into chaudhary and mehar and so on.
        That must have been laborious both in mind and body. To see such helplessness often limits the boundary of strength.
        We are from India originally. Our family migrated to Pakistan after independence. That was way back in history, I haev heard some oral accounts of those days when elder women went to their hometown of Agra or Madras on foot with pots ful of eatables as gift. Our cuture is very rich. Our Faith is being maipulated. Our country is being hounded. yet, we are very loving at heart. If you visit any home in rural Pakistan, still you will be served with the best of everything they have got. I had such an experience recently. It made me realize my level.

      • I understand about that sort of manipulation you talk about; there being what goes on at a national level versus the daily lives of those who live far from the center of politics and don’t represent what their leaders might say and do. The city I had lived in, Gyumri, in Armenia, had been completely destroyed in an earthquake in 1987, killing 25,000 people in three seconds. It hadn’t been rebuilt when I was sent there — entire city blocks in ruin, factories caved in, streets buckled like rubber. And in all that destruction my neighbors and friends going about their daily lives, the best they could. That kindness to strangers you talked about, yes, I would walk down the street and some 89 year old man would call out, “American Johnny!” (why this was a popular nickname I could never find out) and get invited into a little hut where a family of 8 or 10 were living in two rooms. The humility one feels when invited into such a world has stayed with me all these years. As terrible as this world can get it is people like that, the kindness of strangers as Tennessee Williams said, that gives me hope.

      • Yes, the politics at national level have never been a true representation of the beauty, humility and ethics of our people unfortunately. I have closely seen what politial power can do to a person.
        That is heart-wrenching. I had been completely unaware of this calamity. Just to read the fatality numbers is another thing but to experience the remnants of that catastrophe, unimaginable !
        See !! They change the perception one has of humanity. The whole world has not turned rogue afterall ! This is the hope that raises the spirit, you are right ! Kindness at the hands of strangers is such a precious gift. Glad we could be the ones to enjoy that:)
        Regards,

      • Often “we” (people, I mean, not us) talk about history as a straight line, that as time moves forward we are progressing as a culture and a people. That idea only works provided we are actually progressing in ways we think of as good. When bad things happen people despair and become cynical, since if this is humanity’s apex right now how can things like war and all is -isms that plague us still exist? But there are no straight lines in nature, everything curves and works in cycles and seasons. History as seasons makes sense to me. Winter will come and terrible things will happen, but we get through the dark times knowing that with spring we will once again recover and the world will turn green again. Whenever I am faced with a problem I try to figure out what nature would do. I take my cue from the good gray poet, Walt Whitman:

        “I think I could turn and live with the animals, they are so placid and self contained;
        I stand and look at them long and long.
        They do not sweat and whine about their condition;
        They do not lie awake in the dark and weep for their sins;
        They do not make me sick discussing their duty to God;
        Not one is dissatisfied-not one is demented with the mania of owning things;
        Not one kneels to another, nor his kind that lived thousands of years ago;
        Not one is responsible or industrious over the whole earth.”

        I like that.

  2. Honestly, I completely and fully agree with your remark of our perception of History, It definitely isn’t a straight line. And yes, the remarkable progress of humanity that we have been hearing about all our lives is just a myth of the “progressives”. What we have left in the wake of that progress is remarkably atrocious. We fail to realize that we stand at the point lower than we started at. It is true that plagues and wars and all the rest of the bad things do exist. More importantly, they are multiplying And in the intent of our prosperity, we have given arise to many more of those artificially borne things. I mean people don’t even stop for a second to deliberate their actions.
    Wow, Walt Whitman !! He was so direct and right !!
    We are short of such people now. The reality of today doesn’t let intellectuals to develop this way now.
    Always learn so much more !! Thank you boy 🙂
    Regards,


Leave a Reply

