The Country of Class

Image

I have been bitterly failing in the task of streamlining my thoughts into words. I have pondered over the reasons of this misery blockage numerous times but no conclusion has been effectively formed as yet. Then, I thought I must have too many wanderings in my narrow tunnels of mind or too less. I have tried to sleep on it, left it alone, made futile attempts to let it all out but of no avail. Catching the fleeting array of thoughts has never been a feat far too difficult for me and an attempt at the expression has been most natural. So, how do I come out of this? How do I let the words run without reins? Where can I find the lost terrain of my fantasies? Why has the reality become an impregnated demolition of my escape?

The sense of oblivion has a way of paralyzing the mind of its territorial rights. Just to be a part of everlasting chaos for as long as one is alive is often an understatement of the description of our reality. The chaos that had once surrounded the ‘upper or lower’ levels of our country has slowly lingered on in the manifestation of every action of ours. This legacy is an unwanted burden on a land that was to be the paradise of the earth. And now has come a time when our people can be clearly divided into categories. This must be applauded as a tenacious success of our lords. Every nation has its own society divisions among the various communities. But the road here takes a turn far too vicious to be controlled. The politics of the world is such, I realize. Yet, most nations have succeeded in recognizing their mistakes and paved the way to rectify those, mostly with victory, often without.

We are a nation often the victim of being the neglectful puppeteers. The specific class division is thus becoming clearer than ever. That may be the animation of my own specks of imagination. The conclusion remains the same, however it may be put.

1-      The first class is the foreign Pakistanis living in Pakistan. The mindset of those is so firmly set in the ways of the ‘successful’ foreigners that their comparison of things would at once fly away to seven oceans across. But then looking up for inspiration is the first step to finding ways to change the bitter days. After meager 66 years of independence, it’s surprising to see how ‘much’ part they have played in the betterment of the days of our lives. Religion for them is a mere tool of reflection for others as they are the ‘busy’ bunch, looking for solutions to all the predicaments.

2-      The moderate Muslims, now they are of the opinion that a nation like ours shouldn’t be following the footsteps of any country, we should be the ones setting examples for them all. Praise worthy philosophy I say! But then they are the ones who secretly replicate the accents of English noble men. To be clear, I myself am an admirer and follower of languages, pronunciation, delivery and usage. However, to profess a misleading image, authorize judgments on the ones ‘spreading’ mischief of foreign conspiracies and then govern the very same doctrine themselves is beyond the philosophy of that self-proclaimed ‘do gooders’ of our society. They want to be the witnesses of change without being the change themselves.

3-      Then we have the most photographed fragment of a most notorious nation, the low class both in social and financial terms. Now, they are the ones not born with any rights or needs or dreams for themselves or their children. The only purpose of their existence is the rightful worship of those above them. They are the breadwinners for the people sitting all mighty and holy in their high chambers, yet they are the ones who get kicked down, knocked around, displaced and deformed, like the authors in any uncivilized society. For them, Darwin’s theory of natural selection most appropriately applies. This is the class of intense competition as the stakes are immensely high, they have to strive for their bread- the dream of butter may be too luxurious for them. The one who can adapt, learn to survive bitter cold, manage to breathe through the harsh heat and learn to reduce their capacity of intake of food should be the one hailed as the ‘man’.

Our ‘many’ (read dozens and dozens of) respectable governments have at the very ‘least’ succeeded in making the ‘skin’ of our idle, laid back people strong. Now, I am sure most of us won’t have an adjustment issue whenever we have to relocate to another continent.

The vital, uncategorized class of citizens is that class whose subsequence members forever remain in the dilemma of finding ways to better the Fate of our peoples. They are a staunch body of workers as not many can survive the psychological grind of dark (literally and figuratively), cold (literally) and hot (literally and figuratively) days and nights. I had once read a few reports on the development of war strategies in the mental and psychological torture department, sensory deprivation made the top of every list. I believe we should not be deprived of the ownership and copyrights of such an elaborate vision has we have been the ones living and surviving it for years and years on now. Nevertheless, the ‘easiest’ way to cope up with that is I have stopped counting time, days, years, hours. Not knowing the numerical version is somewhat relieving, a formula applied successfully.

Pakistan is a nation– not how it is displayed in its talk shows, through its politicians, through its terror headlines! We are an honest, laborious, humble, loving and peaceful nation. That is the sole reason why we have let things come this far. But not now, sitting in a small city of a suppressed house, my heart is rising, the echoes of the whispers which bounced back and damaged my sanity is now finding ways of expression. The true Pakistan will rise! And we will all be here to witness the revolution of intentions.

“…Lo! Allah changeth not the condition of a folk until they (first) change that which is in their hearts; …“

Verse (13:11)

 lakesaif-ul-malook

 

28 comments

  1. ‘the dream of butter’
    Class and caste have always confused me, i can see why the upper classes would enjoy it but a man/woman should not be held back by their ancestry, rather we should be counted each as our own 🙂
    The son of a holy man may not always become the best preacher.
    Likewise with Doctors and Warriors 🙂

    A very interesting and thought provoking read,
    thank you Maryam

    • They sure are confusing. Human are humans. Caste,creed and class are the creations of our own folly. And I agree wholly, every generation doesn’t follow in the footsteps of their elders or ancestors. It that had been the case, the world would have been brimming with greater catastrophe than now. This post however is more about how categorized the mindsets of a country’s members can be. Especially when we have been afflicted with the heritage of complex about our language, culture and outlook. On top of that, we have remained unsure of our identity for a long time. We as a nation haven’t been able to decide what we actually are. And this has let the ‘others’ to put their own frivolous stamps. I realize I have grown a bit (or more) cynical because the more I look around , the greater the misconceptions I find about Muslims, Pakistan and Islam as a whole.
      These are frustrations caged for an extended while.
      Thank you a lot Gary 🙂

      • Is it not ! The world desperately is in need of all the acts you mentioned as a whole to heal the wounds so deep.
        Thank you for such compassion, always 🙂
        Regards, Gary 🙂

  2. “For them, Darwin’s theory of natural selection most appropriately applies. This is the class of intense competition as the stakes are immensely high, they have to strive for their bread- the dream of butter may be too luxurious for them.. ”
    Just loved this part.. beautifully written 🙂

    • Thank you zohra ! This is how their struggle of life is to me. No government of ours has tried to reach and abolish a bit of suffering dancing all around. I hope the times will change now and we may be able to see a better tomorrow.
      Thank you again dearest.
      Regards,

  3. When I first started reading this entry I began thinking of my own “misery blocks” when it comes to certain topics, how it took well over 10 years before I could even think about some topics in a rational, aloof manner, let alone find the words to express some things that simply beyond words. Your assessment of Pakistan, the complexity of a world I know so little of, does not suffer from “misery blocks,” my friend! Marx said “no war but the class war” and perhaps a caste war (or at least struggle) would make sense too. Class structures around the world might be called different things and might look different culture to culture, but it takes an wise person to understand them, their in’s and out’s, the engines that drive them. Thank you for teaching me something new. That is the best kind of gift. Cheers!

    • You know Scott gave me this idea that I have to let it out, just write and don not think about how well it is. And woala, it works 🙂
      Your writing has a deep meaning, always and it takes a sound mind to get to that. It has maturity and that comes with struggle. You quoted such a prices and appropriately quote. There is no war really but class war ! I wish I had the capability to teach a man like you something. The words some of you put on here make me want to go on !
      The support means more than words can tell ! Thank you for being with me, however insane I might get !
      Stay blessed, Maryam 🙂
      P.S : Do add in your name in the next comment if it’s all right with you 🙂

      • I agree with Scott that it is the “starting” when it comes to writing that is the hardest. There is a saying I like (though I can’t recall who said it first) that a 1000 mile journey starts with the first step. Sometimes I think our modern age does writers a disservice, for the moment we hit “send” our words are there for everyone to see, even if they are not always ready to be read. I think that puts huge amounts of pressure on an artist because everything has to be “perfect.” In older days you could write something and have time to go back and edit. Still, if I didn’t have the Internet I would have met you and your writing is a blessing to me. I hope all is good for you on this Saturday afternoon, we’ll talk soon! Zachary.

      • I agree with everything he has to say 🙂 And yes, I needed to hear this, Zachary. And nice to address you by your name 🙂
        I believe no work can arrive at perfection, that is the beauty of it. Being perfect gets stagnant and then there’s no ladder to climg, no adventure to experience.
        I can’t express my gratitude enough for your praise and support 🙂
        I would always want to see every task with this intent from now: “a 1000 mile journey starts with the first step.” I can understand the pressure of being perfect and never being able to just ‘go with it.” And I believe we are all in it together 🙂
        Best regards, dear Zachary 🙂

      • I was thinking about what you said about being perfect gets stagnate, I totally agree! It is also very lonely, because a person trying to be perfect can only focus on themselves. Friends (real friends) not only don’t care if I’m perfect, but love me for all the things I’m not perfect in (I think that’s called “having a good character”) love makes us all equals.

      • You know, I am currently reading ‘Heer by Waris Shah’. He was a Punjabi poet and wrote the tragedy of love between Heer and Ranjha. It has opened my eyes a bit more to the imperfections of a writing making it beautiful as I have never read a Punjabi book before, it is an imperfection for me as he has blatantly described the irony of relations, bitterness of words and ache of heart to the perfection that it makes it imperfect. Hoping to make sense yet again 🙂
        Regards, dear friend 🙂

      • Ooo! A new poet I’ve never heard of (which happens all the time, it seems) has Shah’s works been translated into English? (my Punjabi is … well, very bad). I don’t think writing about our pain is an imperfection. Anyone who loves honestly runs the chance of being hurt.It seems to be one of those curious things about being human. But we change over time, and that is a strength, you know. We get hurt, we make amazing art out of that pain, and then we fall in love and make amazing art out of that joy. I think the important thing is to have friends who accept you as a complex person with many different experiences. That’s the important thing =)

      • Yes, I believe so. You have got to read this one. I have often heard about this story and seen it in a movie, but that was a long time ago. Reading through the summary again, I lliteraly felt a pang of hearache, a very strong piece his is !
        I believed it for a time that reflection of pain is an imperfection ! How wrong that opinion was. I agree with you, pain does add in as your strength.
        “important thing is to have friends who accept you as a complex person with many different experiences. That’s the important thing =)”
        That is the most important thing 🙂
        Regards 🙂

      • Yes, you have to 🙂 I will be looking for it as well and will try to send it to you 🙂 Hope one of our mission finds success.
        Thank you tou you dear Z 🙂
        Regards,

  4. Asalam o aluikum, Maryam ! Good to see you getting the words out of your head and onto cyber-paper, and it wil keep coming…Inshaa-Allah. Keep it up, mi hermanita en el otro lado del el mundo. All the best to you, your loved ones, and especially that mother of yours who raised such a wonderful daughter. Saludos a tu y tu familia.
    Luego…

    • Waluikum asalam baray bhai 🙂 It felt really good to have words on paper again or they would have driven my mind to pieces !
      Inshaa-ALLAH, your advice is what took me out of this misery ! My mother would be the happiest person upon hearing what you have said. She already asks about you a lot !
      Adios para ahora 🙂

      • It’s all you..just a nudge. That’s funny about your mom. I get adopted a lot, and have been since I was a 2 year-old. Odd way to live, but I’ve met a lot of special people wandering from place to place.
        Later…

  5. It is sad to see what is going on in so many countries, and even sadder still to stumble upon articles like this, where the image portrayed by the people concerned, completely contradicts the image spoon fed to millions by the media.

    Well written, may we – one day – see all nations rise to their full rightful potential…


Leave a Reply

