You and I

Image

You and I

I pledge to open my heart

To witness the screens of biased plots

I request to you, my friend

Spare a few relentless specks of unrest

And to me, grant your thoughts for a mere courtesy

For a moment, travel to the roads of willful spiritual ecstasy

Together, let’s pave a world free of greed

With you and I, let’s eradicate every fanatical fantasy

My world is a precious belonging to me

For I would not wish to see it bleed

And fiddle all the accusations to thee

My world is a world with no creed

I may be a maimed soul with numerous maladies

But, my heart still rejoices all the gleeful melodies

Of yonder, the time of peaceful sprees

Those days when judgments of pride shall hear no decree

Maligned soul struggles to battle that intolerant abnormality

And looks up to heaven in wait of intervention, devotedly

25 comments

  1. Awesome poem, and I find myself always blessed by what your heart brings to life with your pen! You are always a delight to read and my spirit is always lifted! The image provides a wonderful blend to begin my morning…so very radiant and vibrant…it brings a smile to life! God bless!

  2. I love the pic you chose for your words. But most of all, I love the opening line to the poem: “I pledge to open my heart.” Such a powerful line because it’s something you’re doing purposely to expose yourself to the other person. This makes you vulnerable in the strictest sense of the words and prone to being hurt. Great, great line!

    • Wow Jack ! You really went after the concise elaboration and I love how you understood a mere thought behind the simplistic expression ! This encourages me πŸ™‚
      Thank you Jack, loads !
      Regards πŸ™‚

  3. I was very much taken with, “I may be a maimed soul with numerous maladies/ But, my heart still rejoices all the gleeful melodies.” We all carry pain, but not all of us still have ability to hear the beautiful music that other people bring to us. Friendship is an amazingly powerful force in this world. This poem is a blessing to help us remember that.

    • Yes, Z. It is an ever struggling phase in the lives of every person, now. Is it not !
      Friednship, indeed is the key to the recovery of the dark maladies πŸ™‚ And the heart sings along the melodies of the relations that come across so rare and genuine. And thank you πŸ™‚ You always add a touch of whimsy with your words.
      Regards and blessings,

      • Yes, the best thing about true friends is that it reminds me I’m not as alone in this world as I feel at times. It doesn’t matter what that friend is, as long as I know there is a kindred soul out there then the world becomes a far less scary place to have to make one’s way. That is, of course, what a blessing is.

  4. I really adore you for your writings. On the side note, it overwhelmes me with a lot of happiness and pride to see a beautiful one of my country having such an awesome power in her thoughts and pen.
    This one, a magnificient piece, Maryam ! ❀ The beautiful imagery just flow, so smoothly and the very fine execution. So perfectly jotted down!
    You my girl, you'll go places, In'sha'Allah!

    • First of all, coming from you, a great gift !
      And secondly, you made me blush, sweet soul ! Upon hearing what you have written is encouraging to the max, to say the least ! I have been blessed to have people like you around me, blessed indeed !
      We do need people of Pakistan to rise, don’t we ! And any one who can do that, I am in all hands down ! in-shaa-ALLAH And I see I am not the only one who feels this ! Such a cherishing vote of support dearest girl πŸ™‚
      Regards and blessings ! πŸ™‚

    • Wow !! I have been a regular follower when I had been active. So, honestly I am a bit taken aback at your appreciation and generosity ! Thank dear Joe.
      Humble regards πŸ™‚

  5. it’s a wonderful poem girl… as i read the title You and I… I thought as u r really addressing to me….the beauty n simplicity of this poem can’t b described in a few words…. it has layers of meanings for me… ur every poem is a gem…. love u …loads…


Leave a Reply

